Productivity & Collaboration · Documents, Notes & Knowledge
8 paid against 40 free you can run yourself.
Paid against free › Productivity & Collaboration › Documents, Notes & Knowledge › Note Taking · Documents and knowledge on Repo Radar
These apps capture, organise and find personal and shared notes: an editor, notebooks or tags, search, sync across devices and sharing. Evernote, OneNote, UpNote and Google Keep are the familiar everyday notes apps; Obsidian, Bear and Capacities are built for linked notes and personal knowledge; Notion and Craft mix notes with docs and team spaces; Standard Notes puts end-to-end encryption first. On the open-source side Joplin, Notesnook and Standard Notes are complete cross-platform notes apps, Logseq, SiYuan and Trilium are knowledge bases you can run yourself, AFFiNE and Anytype add Notion-style structure, and memos and SilverBullet are lighter self-hosted tools.
Prices and free tiers as checked, dated on each review.
EEvernoteCapture, organize, and find notes, tasks, and documents across devices.
$8.25free tierOOneNoteOneNote is a digital note-taking app for organizing, sharing, and collaborating.
$9.99free tierOObsidianA free, flexible, private note-taking app for building personal knowledge bases.
free tierBBearA Markdown note-taking app for Apple devices with tagging, themes, and export options.
$2.99free tierUUpNoteA clean, cross-platform note-taking app with rich editing and sync.
$1.99free tierSStandard NotesEnd-to-end encrypted notes app with cross-platform sync and privacy features.
free tierGGoogle KeepGoogle Keep is a note-taking app for capturing, sharing, and collaborating on notes.
—CCapacitiesObject-based note-taking and knowledge management app with AI features.
free tierTheir home is another job; they cover part of this one too.
Secure work management platform for teams with tasks, notes, and reports.
free tierRRaycastExtendable launcher with AI, notes, window management, and more.
$8free tierMMonarchA macOS launcher for apps, commands, notes, and calculations.
—GGranolaAI notepad for back-to-back meetings.
free tierGGoogle DocsCloud-native collaborative document editor with AI assistance and PDF editing.
free tierMMicrosoft WordWord processing with AI, collaboration, and editing tools.
free tierPProton DocsEnd-to-end encrypted real-time collaborative document editor from Proton.
$4.99free tierCCoda (Superhuman Docs)All-in-one collaborative workspace blending docs, spreadsheets, apps, and AI.
free tierCCraftA free notes and productivity app for documents, tasks, and planning.
$6.4free tierNNotionAll-in-one workspace with AI agents, docs, and developer platform.
free tierDDocmostOpen-source, self-hosted collaborative wiki and documentation software for teams.
free tierRReadwiseRevisit and learn from your highlights and annotations.
$5.59free tierMmymindA private bookmarking and note-taking app that auto-organizes saved content.
$4.99Free to use. You run it on your own server.
They do this job.
There can be more than Notion and Miro. AFFiNE(pronounced [ə‘fain]) is a next-gen knowledge base that brings planning, sorting and creating all together. Privacy first, open-source, customizable and ready to use.
★ 73.8kFreeMEusememos/memosA very light place to write short notes, privately, searchable and tagged.
★ 63.9kFreeJOlaurent22/joplinJoplin - the privacy-focused note taking app with sync capabilities for Windows, macOS, Linux, Android and iOS.
★ 56.8kFreeSIsiyuan-note/siyuanA notebook whose notes stay as files you own.
★ 46.7kFreeLOlogseq/logseqA privacy-first, open-source platform for knowledge management and collaboration. Download link: http://github.com/logseq/logseq/releases. roadmap: https://logseq.io/p/NX4mc_ggEV
★ 45.3kFreeTRTriliumNext/TriliumBuild your personal knowledge base with Trilium Notes
★ 38.4kFreeNOstreetwriters/notesnookA fully open source & end-to-end encrypted note taking alternative to Evernote.
★ 14.8kFreeANanyproto/anytype-tsOfficial Anytype client for MacOS, Linux, and Windows
★ 9kFreeAPstandardnotes/appThink fearlessly with end-to-end encrypted notes and files. For issues, visit https://standardnotes.com/forum or https://standardnotes.com/help.
★ 6.7kFreeSIsilverbulletmd/silverbulletA notes system you run yourself that stores everything as plain Markdown files in a folder of your own.
★ 6.3kFreeA second choice: they cover part of this job or are a building block for it.
Ultra-lightweight, open-source, self-hosted personal AI agent framework in Python with WebUI, tools, memory, MCP, multi-agent workflows, automation, and chat apps
★ 49.2kFreeKAkarakeep-app/karakeepSaves links, notes, pictures and PDFs on a server you control, and adds labels on its own.
★ 29.7kFreeBOBookStackApp/BookStackA self-hosted wiki organised as shelves, books, chapters and pages.
★ 19.1kFreeDOsuitenumerique/docsDocs is an open-source text editor: web-native, made for real-time collaboration, cleanly structured documents and sub-documents with full ownership of your data. Built to scale with Django and React.
★ 16.9kFreeOMomnivore-app/omnivoreOmnivore is a complete, open source read-it-later solution for people who like reading.
★ 16.3kFreeFRFreshRSS/FreshRSSIt gathers the feeds you follow into one page you control.
★ 16.3kFreeXOxournalpp/xournalppXournal++ is a handwriting notetaking software with PDF annotation support. Written in C++ with GTK3, supporting Linux (e.g. Ubuntu, Debian, Arch, SUSE), macOS and Windows 10. Supports pen input from devices such as Wacom Tablets.
★ 15.6kFreeZEZettlr/ZettlrA desktop writing program for Markdown documents, with citation support and export to Word, PDF and LaTeX.
★ 13.8kFreeMAmarkmap/markmapIt turns an indented Markdown list into a foldable mind map in the browser.
★ 13.2kFreeWAwallabag/wallabagIt saves the readable text of any web article on a machine you control.
★ 13kFreeSHgo-shiori/shioriA self-hosted bookmark manager that keeps an offline copy of each saved page.
★ 11.7kFreeLIsissbruecker/linkdingA self-hosted bookmark manager that installs with one Docker command and exports in the standard browser format.
★ 11.1kFreeV2miniflux/v2A feed reader you run yourself, built as one small program plus a PostgreSQL database.
★ 9.8kFreeNEsamuelclay/NewsBlurA feed reader that learns which stories are wanted and hides the rest, running since 2009 and self-hostable.
★ 7.6kFreeHEhedgedoc/hedgedocA shared notepad in the browser where several people write the same document at the same time.
★ 7.5kFreeWRwritefreely/writefreelyA small self-hosted blog in one downloaded program.
★ 5.3kFreeJAJabRef/jabrefA desktop citation and reference manager that stores its library as a plain BibTeX file.
★ 4.8kFreeCOLibreOffice/coreRead-only LibreOffice core repo - no pull request (use gerrit instead https://gerrit.libreoffice.org/) - don't download zip, use https://dev-www.libreoffice.org/bundles/ instead
★ 4.5kFreeFRfreeplane/freeplaneApplication for Mind Mapping, Knowledge Management, Project Management. Develop, organize and communicate your ideas and knowledge in the most effective way.
★ 4.4kFreeYAnkanaev/yarrA feed reader that is one small file, runnable as a desktop application or as a small private server.
★ 4.1kFreeZKzk-org/zkA command-line assistant for a folder of plain text notes.
★ 2.8kFreeMAFeel-ix-343/markdown-oxideA language server that gives a folder of Markdown notes links, backlinks, daily notes and completion inside an editor.
★ 2.3kFreeDJjgm/djotA light markup language designed to fix the confusing parts of Markdown.
★ 2kFreeSTstenolabs/stenoaiStenographAI is the secure privacy-first AI notepad & notetaker for confidential conversations in government & defence sectors. On Windows, Linux & MacOS.
★ 1.3kFreeXWxwiki/xwiki-platformThe XWiki platform
★ 1.3kFreeOPoperately/operatelyThe open source company operating system.
★ 592FreeHUmichaelwilhelmsen/humlaOpen-source AI meeting notes for Mac. Records mic + system audio with no bot, transcribes on-device or via OpenAI / Deepgram / Groq, identifies speakers offline, and writes summaries that fuse your notes with the transcript. Ask your notes and get cited answers. Tauri 2 + Rust + Swift.
★ 319FreeOBchrisgrieser/obsidian-quadroObsidian Plugin for social-scientific Qualitative Data Analysis (QDA). An open alternative to MAXQDA and atlas.ti, using Markdown to store data and research codes.
★ 162FreeTAremram44/taguetteFree and open source qualitative research tool -- MIRROR OF GITLAB REPOSITORY
★ 90FreeOPopenqda/openqdaFree open collaborative qualitative data analysis software
★ 81FreeEvery paid tool and free repository we compared, marked against the same features.
✓has itPartlysome plans or extra work—confirmed not available?not confirmed✓the vendor's claim onlypricingClick a mark for its note and source
| Paid · 10 | Free · 10 | |||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Feature | Evernote | Notion | OneNote | Obsidian | Bear | Craft | UpNote | Standard Notes | IncumbentGoogle Keep | ChallengerCapacities | laurent22/joplin | logseq/logseq | siyuan-note/siyuan | usememos/memos | TriliumNext/Trilium | toeverything/AFFiNE | streetwriters/notesnook | standardnotes/app | anyproto/anytype-ts | silverbulletmd/silverbullet |
| Starts at | $8.25 per month for Starter, billed annually ($99 a year) | $10 per seat per month for Plus | Free OneNote app; Microsoft 365 Personal $9.99 per month, billed monthly | Free app; Sync $4 per user per month, billed annually | $2.99 per month for Bear Pro, billed monthly | $6.40 per month for Plus, billed yearly | $1.99 per month for UpNote Premium | $90 per year for Productivity | $7 per user per month for Google Workspace Business Starter | $9.99 per month for Pro, billed monthly | AGPL-3.0 | AGPL-3.0 | AGPL-3.0 | MIT | AGPL-3.0 | MIT | GPL-3.0 | AGPL-3.0 | Any Source Available License 1.0 | MIT |
| Writing | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Markdown editingWrite or format notes in Markdown, natively or through Markdown shortcuts. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Capture | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Web clipperA browser extension that saves web pages or selections as notes. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Handwriting or sketchingDraw, sketch or write by hand inside notes. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Organization | ||||||||||||||||||||
| TagsLabel notes with tags or labels across folders. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Note links and backlinksLink notes to each other and see which notes link back. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Search in images and PDFsFind text inside photos, scans and PDF attachments (OCR). | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Access | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Offline accessRead and edit notes without an internet connection. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Sync across devicesNotes stay in sync across computers and phones. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Web appUse the notes in a browser without installing an app. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Mobile appsApps for iPhone and Android phones. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Sharing | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Real-time collaborationSeveral people edit the same notes together. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Publish to the webPublish notes as public pages or a site. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Privacy and data | ||||||||||||||||||||
| End-to-end encryptionNotes are encrypted so the provider cannot read them. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Export to Markdown or plain filesExport notes to Markdown or plain-text files you keep. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Self-hostingRun the sync server or the whole app on your own server. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Extras | ||||||||||||||||||||
| AI assistantBuilt-in AI to write, summarize or ask questions of your notes. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| API or pluginsA public API, MCP connection or plugin system to extend or connect the app. | ||||||||||||||||||||
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | — | per account | 50 notes, 1 notebook, 1 device | 1 GB monthly uploads; 20 tags |
| Starter | $8.25 | Billed annually ($99 a year); monthly price not shown | per month | 1,000 notes, 20 notebooks, 3 devices | 5 GB storage; 1,000 attachments; AI features |
| Advanced | $20.83 | Billed annually ($249.99 a year); monthly price not shown | per month | Unlimited notes and notebooks, unlimited devices | Unlimited storage and attachments; AI features |
| Flexible | From $10 | Not stated | per seat per month | From 500 notes, up to unlimited | Team spaces; admin console |
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Contract | per organization | Customizable limits | SSO and SCIM; dedicated success manager |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | — | per seat per month | Unlimited blocks for individuals | 5 MB uploads; 10 guests; 7-day history |
| Plus | $10 | Not stated on the plan cards read | per seat per month | Unlimited collaborative blocks | Unlimited uploads; 30-day history; AI trial |
| Business | $20 | Not stated on the plan cards read | per seat per month | 1,500 Standard and 500 Select AI credits per seat a month | SAML SSO; Notion Agent; AI Meeting Notes; 90-day history |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing | Contract | per seat | Custom AI credit amounts | SCIM; audit log; zero data retention with AI providers |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 Personal | $9.99 or $99.99 | Monthly, or yearly | per month or per year | Not published | 1 TB cloud storage; OneNote desktop app with Copilot |
| Microsoft 365 Family | $12.99 or $129.99 | Monthly, or yearly | per month or per year | Not published | 2 TB shared cloud storage |
| Microsoft 365 Premium | $19.99 or $199.99 | Monthly, or yearly | per month or per year | Not published | Everything in Family plus advanced AI features |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Obsidian app | $0 | — | per user | Unlimited local notes | No sign-up; commercial use allowed |
| Sync | $4 or $5 | Billed annually, or monthly | per user per month | Not published | End-to-end encryption; version history; shared vaults |
| Publish | $8 or $10 | Billed annually, or monthly | per site per month | Not published | Custom theme; graph and full-text search on the site |
| Catalyst | $25 | One-time payment | per user | Not applicable | Early access to beta versions |
| Commercial | $50 | Yearly | per user per year | Not applicable | Optional licence for organizations |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | — | per user | Unlimited local notes | No iCloud sync; no OCR search; 3 themes |
| Bear Pro | $2.99 | Monthly | per user per month | Unlimited notes | iCloud sync; OCR search; export to PDF, HTML, DOCX |
| Bear Pro yearly | $29.99 | Yearly (about 15% saving) | per user per year | Unlimited notes | Same as Bear Pro |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $0 | — | per account | 1,500 blocks | 1 GB storage; 25 MB uploads; 15 AI credits |
| Plus | $6.40 or $8 | Billed yearly, or monthly | per person per month | Unlimited content | Unlimited storage; 50 AI credits a month; 30-day history |
| Family | $12 or $15 | Billed yearly, or monthly | per bundle per month | 2 to 6 Plus accounts | Shared Space |
| Team | $50 | Fixed price | per bundle per month | Up to 10 Plus accounts | Shared Space; larger groups contact sales |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | — | per user | 50 notes | Basic features; sync on all devices |
| Premium monthly | $1.99 | Monthly, bought in the iOS, Android or Mac app | per user per month | Unlimited notes | Attachments, tables, lock, export; prices vary by region |
| Premium lifetime | $39.99 | One-time payment | per user | Unlimited notes | Same as Premium monthly |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $0 | — | per user | Unlimited plain-text notes | Tags; offline; encrypted backups |
| Productivity | $90 | Yearly | per user per year | Unlimited notes and note types | Super notes; folders; Web Clipper; 1-year history |
| Professional | $120 | Yearly | per user per year | Unlimited notes | 100 GB encrypted files; share with up to 5 accounts |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Starter | $7 ($3.50 introductory) | Monthly; introductory price for new customers, first 12 months, first 20 users | per user per month | Not published | 30 GB pooled storage per user; Keep included |
| Business Standard | $14 ($7 introductory) | Monthly; introductory price as above | per user per month | Not published | 2 TB pooled storage per user |
| Business Plus | $22 ($11 introductory) | Monthly; introductory price as above | per user per month | Not published | 5 TB pooled storage per user |
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Contract | per user | Not published | No user limit |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $0 | — | per user | Unlimited objects and blocks | 5 GB media, then 100 MB a month |
| Pro | $9.99 | Monthly (16% less billed yearly) | per user per month | Light monthly AI budget | Unlimited media; tasks; calendar; public API |
| Believer | From $12.49 | Monthly | per user per month | Light monthly AI budget | Beta access to new features |
| Plus AI add-on | $8.33 | Billed annually | per user per month | Larger monthly AI budget with top-ups | Added to Pro or Believer |
Checked 2026-10-22 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
Looked at, and left out of the comparison, with the reason.
Not compared here. Listed so you can see the rest of the field.
What the research could not settle from the vendors' own pages.
One job at a time: the paid tools worth paying for, the free ones you can run yourself, and who should pick which.
No tracking pixels. One click to leave. We use your address to send Stack Radar and nothing else. Privacy.