Sales & Customers · Customer Success & Feedback
10 paid against 7 free you can run yourself.
Paid against free › Sales & Customers › Customer Success & Feedback › Retention · Talking to customers on Repo Radar
Retention tools keep existing customers from leaving. Two kinds compete here. Customer success platforms such as Gainsight, ChurnZero, Planhat, Vitally, Custify, Velaris and the newer Meza AI pull usage, CRM and support data into health scores and churn risk flags, then trigger playbooks and outreach for account managers. Subscription retention tools such as Churnkey and Chargebee Retention act at the moment of cancellation or a failed payment with cancel flows, save offers and dunning. Most customer success platforms are sold through sales calls, while the subscription tools publish entry prices. The open-source side is thin: a cancel-flow SDK and components, PostHog for retention analytics, Formbricks for churn surveys, and several new, small customer success projects worth watching.
Prices and free tiers as checked, dated on each review.
GGainsight Customer Success PlatformCustomer success platform for retention, growth, and AI-driven insights.
—CChurnZeroAI-powered customer success platform for subscription businesses to reduce churn and drive growth.
—OOdie (formerly Totango)AI-driven customer knowledge engine for post-sales teams.
$500PPlanhatAgentic customer platform for commercial teams to manage customer relationships.
—VVitallyAI-powered Customer Success Platform for CS teams.
—CCustifyAI-first customer success platform for SaaS teams
—VVelarisAI agents for Customer Success teams to automate workflows and grow NRR.
—CChurnkeyChurnkey is customer retention software built for Stripe.
$250free tierCChargebeeRevenue infrastructure for AI, SaaS, and subscription businesses.
free tierMMeza AIAI agents that watch accounts, flag churn, and draft actions for CS teams.
$1000free tierFree to use. You run it on your own server.
They do this job.
A production ready cancel flow for React from Churnkey
★ 23FreeEXadityash8/exit-zero🚀 AI-native retention infrastructure for SaaS companies. Reduce churn with personalized offers, Q-learning optimization, and complete data ownership.
★ 2FreeCSkyle-olmstead/cs-claude-engineAn open-source AI system that watches every customer account a CS team owns and tells them who is about to leave and who is ready to buy more. A human approves every action.
★ 1FreeREopensyndicate/recoupOpen-source agent that recovers failed payments and failed subscription renewals. A deterministic dunning policy engine plus a Claude agent for the judgment calls. Gateway-agnostic (Razorpay, Stripe, or your own).
FreeGTpumpgtm/gtm-uishadcn/ui billing components by PumpGTM (pumpgtm.com): Stripe cancel flow, save offers, subscription state. npx shadcn add @gtm/cancel-flow
FreeCUSalim698/customer-churn-prevention-n8nWorkflow n8n quotidien : calcule un health score par client SaaS, diagnostique le risque de churn avec Gemini et envoie un email adapté au niveau de risque.
FreeOPyashkhou/openretentionSelf-hosted customer success software for B2B SaaS: explainable health scores, churn risk, renewals and revenue-at-risk.
FreeEvery paid tool and free repository we compared, marked against the same features.
✓has itPartlysome plans or extra work—confirmed not available?not confirmed✓the vendor's claim onlypricingClick a mark for its note and source
| Paid · 10 | Free · 9 | ||||||||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Feature | Gainsight Customer Success Platform | ChurnZero | Odie (formerly Totango) | Planhat | Vitally | Custify | Velaris | Churnkey | IncumbentChargebee | ChallengerMeza AI | churnkey/sdk | PostHog/posthog | kyle-olmstead/cs-claude-engine | yashkhou/openretention | adityash8/exit-zero | pumpgtm/gtm-ui | opensyndicate/recoup | formbricks/formbricks | Salim698/customer-churn-prevention-n8n |
| Starts at | Contact sales | Contact sales | $1,500 per month (Odie Customer Operating System, starting price) | Contact sales | Contact sales | Contact sales | Contact sales | $250 per month, billed yearly (Starter) | Contact sales (Enterprise); Starter $0 for Chargebee Billing customers | $1,000 per month, billed monthly (Starter) | MIT | MIT | Apache-2.0 | BSL | MIT | MIT | MIT | AGPL-3.0 | MIT |
| Data | |||||||||||||||||||
| Customer 360 account viewOne profile per account that brings together contacts, activity, revenue and history. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Product usage dataTakes in product usage or event data and uses it as a retention signal. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Billing system connectionConnects to a billing or payment system such as Stripe, Chargebee or Paddle. | |||||||||||||||||||
| CRM syncReads from or writes back to a CRM such as Salesforce or HubSpot. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Risk | |||||||||||||||||||
| Health scoresScores each account or customer for health from configurable signals. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Churn risk predictionFlags accounts likely to churn, by model or by rules, before they cancel. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Sentiment analysisReads tone or sentiment from conversations, tickets or feedback. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Action | |||||||||||||||||||
| Automated playbooksTriggers tasks, alerts or sequences automatically when signals change. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Customer email campaignsSends or drafts outreach emails to customers from the tool. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Cancel flows with save offersIntercepts a cancellation and presents surveys and offers such as discounts or pauses. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Failed payment recoveryRetries failed charges and runs dunning to recover involuntary churn. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Customer surveysRuns NPS or other customer surveys inside the tool. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Renewal trackingTracks renewal dates, renewal risk or renewal forecasts. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Reporting | |||||||||||||||||||
| Retention reportingDashboards or reports on churn, retention, saved revenue or at-risk revenue. | |||||||||||||||||||
| A/B testing of offersTests retention offers or flows against each other. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Platform | |||||||||||||||||||
| Self-hostingCan be run on your own infrastructure. | |||||||||||||||||||
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | Contact sales | Not stated | Per organisation | Not published | 10 full users, 100 customers per user, unlimited viewer licences |
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Not stated | Per organisation | Not published | 20 full users, 200 customers per user; adds company news, renewal and expansion forecasting, sponsor tracking |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Customer success platform | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | Plans and limits are not published |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Customer Knowledge Engine | From $500 | Not stated | Per month | Not published | Priced on knowledge graphs maintained and MCP access |
| Customer Operating System | From $1,500 | Not stated | Per month | Not published | Priced on portfolio size, depth of analysis and an AI token and service-hour pool |
| Totango Customer Success Platform | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | Still listed as a product; no price published |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All plans (CRM, CSP, PSA tabs) | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | Add-ons: upgraded AI platform, advanced service, email marketing, advanced portals |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vitally platform | Contact sales | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | Plans and limits are not published |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Custify platform | Custom quote | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | No setup fees; data stored in Germany; guided implementation |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Velaris licence | Contact sales | Not stated | Per licence | Not published | 5 users, unlimited viewers, 3 custom objects; add-ons available |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $250 | Billed yearly | Per month | Not published | For under $5k monthly churn volume; cancel flows, payment recovery, metrics |
| Core | Contact sales | Monthly or annual | Per month | Not published | For $10k+ monthly churn volume; A/B testing, segmentation, precision retries |
| Intelligence | Get a quote | Not stated | Per month | Not published | Adds Adaptive Offers, Account Agent, Feedback AI, translations |
| Enterprise | Custom quote | Not stated | Not stated | Not published | Dedicated technical account manager, custom integrations, legal support |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $0 | Not applicable | Per month | Not published | Chargebee Billing customers only; one play; no-code cancel pages, cancellation reasons, pause and downgrade |
| Enterprise | Custom | Not stated | Based on number of active subscribers | Not published | Unlimited plays; AI churn prediction, A/B testing, retention analytics, Salesforce integration |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Unit | Research allowance | Other limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $1,000 | Monthly; $800 per month billed annually | Per month | Up to 100 accounts | 5 seats; 30-day data retention; $5 per extra account |
| Growth | $2,500 | Monthly; $2,000 per month billed annually | Per month | Up to 250 accounts | 20 seats; SSO; 1-year data retention; custom agents |
| Enterprise | Custom | Billed annually | Per contract | Unlimited accounts | Unlimited seats; dedicated infrastructure; SOC 2, HIPAA |
Checked 2026-10-21 on the pricing page. Prices change; the vendor's page is the final word.
Looked at, and left out of the comparison, with the reason.
What the research could not settle from the vendors' own pages.
One job at a time: the paid tools worth paying for, the free ones you can run yourself, and who should pick which.
No tracking pixels. One click to leave. We use your address to send Stack Radar and nothing else. Privacy.